Why I am leaving Facebook

Some of you may recall my social experiment a little while ago, in which I restricted my time on Facebook and indeed experienced the benefits, when I returned to the book of face I was determined to keep these smart surfing habits, unfortunately this was destined to failure as I am indeed a ‘connected’ individual, I was back up to unhealthy time expenditure pretty well straight away, which is especially destructive when you consider, I can access facebook from my mobile phone, netbook and  from this very mac which I sit before all day, simply put, facebook is too ready a temptation when I am in a moment of frustration or adsorbed by tedium.

I have also noticed other things, not least of which is the quality of sleep diminish proportionally to the amount of screen time before bed. but most significantly, after over-stimulating my mind with the passing parade of facebook I find spiritual things difficult to focus on.

There are other negatives which I take into account also, the generations before us were always a reasonably private bunch, this paradigm has been cast off by most of the current generation, due, I believe in no small part to the introduction of social networking sites like Facebook, you like to know what everyone else is doing, you like to see other people’s photo’s and thus you gravitate digitally, toward the people who divulge the most information, then, as is human nature, we desire to be liked, and in social networking this means reciprocating by divulging as much information as possible, I do not believe this is a good direction for society, I have no problems sharing information about my life with individuals but when you amass hundreds or in some cases thousands of “friends” I am not sure it is a wise practice to be involved in.

I have heard the argument from my Christian brethren, “Why not just use Facebook for God as a tool to get the message out there” It is true that it can be used for God’s work I have seen it used in this way and I have personally used it for these purposes, but eventually the nature of the medium leads me into idle browsing which does not glorify God but merely satisfies the gossip gene in me, seeing what people are upto, passing on my own slant on subjects and info.

The final objection I am going to make known here is one which I mentioned in my initial social experiment and that is the lack of real connection with your “Friends”, Facebook seems particularly conducive to superficial interaction, I understand that the discerning user can overcome this but I believe it is altering peoples perception of what true friendship entails, am I saying that my friends are not really friends because they are on facebook, of course not, I am referring to the medium in general. 

Having said all that, this is just me, everyone is different, but I think life is too short to be idle, we should “Run in such a way that you may win.” 1 Cor 9:24 dawdling is not included, if you can honestly use it as a tool rather than a time waster I encourage you to do so with all my heart as it is a great way to reach many people very quickly.

Will I ever be back?

That is a very good question, one for which I do not know the answer, the only answer I could give to you would be that I would only return once my connection with God was strong enough to make me indifferent to the passing parade, when I am so awestruck by the matchless charms of Christ I would feel no need to  expend my time in fruitless ways.

11 Responses to “Why I am leaving Facebook”

  1. Well said luke! It is such a time waster, and so many ppl fall into that trap, and then have a hard time getting out.
    Knowing that there is someone out there, who enjoys facebook, and is giving it up, (for very good reasons, i must say!) Then the least i cld do is limit my time spent on there. And, who knows, one day i may be satisfied in life enough without it.
    Praise the Lord for giving you strength to do it πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the encouragement Casey, i can tell you from this side of the fence it is SO worth it, i found it basically impossible to “limit” my time, but once disconnected it really isn’t that difficult, and the benefits are great, it is easy to forget what life was like before facebook.

      if you just seek the Lord’s will on where your time should be spent, you will always overcome.

      God Bless.

  2. Good on you, Luke. You have a very balanced position and eloquently-put statement there. It’s a rare thing to see people who will give up anything – even a loved thing for their Lord. It’s easy to see who is God in your life πŸ˜‰ Only an hour ago I was having a conversation with my parents about facebook, and our bottom line was the very same thing you said: if we can use it as a tool and not a time-waster, it can be of benefit. 2 days ago I listened to a sermon by Eugene Prewitt called ‘Hatred of Sin’. He talked about Abraham’s sacrifice, that he was asked by God to give up his son. His son wasn’t evil, or causing Abraham to sin. It must have been hard for Abraham to understand why God would want him to give up something so good-in fact his most precious ‘possession’. Yet he did, because his hate for the sin of disobedience, and his love for God, were stronger than his love for his son. And God honoured him for that. When we can give up anything we love-even the good things-for God, that’s when we’ve passed a truly great test. It’s wonderful that you can see facebook for what it is – that it can be used for good or bad. You’ve inspired me greatly to analyse my motivations for not only facebook but other things in my daily life. πŸ™‚ Thankyou!

    • Hi Rosanna,
      Thankyou so much for your comment. When you said “It’s easy to see who is God in your life” you paid me one of the greatest compliments any Christian can receive, i pray i continue to deserve it.
      That sounds like a great sermon, i will have to find it. πŸ™‚
      It was great to catch up with you at AYC, i pray you have been inspired and strengthened, to apply what has been revealed πŸ™‚
      God Bless.

      Luke.

  3. Ray Raman Says:

    Dear brother in Christ Luke,

    what you wrote is so profound…Internet is an amazing tool…life is almost incompelete with out internet…however it is the biggest tool that is destroying the human mind…and relationship with God…the way it is destroying relationship with God…internet is a time stealer..face book is one of the site ( tool, almost everyone uses it), it keeps you away from God.

    One has to be ABSOLUTELY Discipline to use it wisely..and there aren’t many humanbeing who are disciplined.

    Blessings !

    I admire, what you wrote…its an amazing stand you are taking….it will only do good.

    • My Brother Ray,

      Thank you for your kind words, Sandra said she linked you to my blog, i am very glad you found it to be a blessing.

      Keep holding on to the Creator and all things become clear.

      Blessings to you too.

      Luke.

  4. Douglas Surridge Says:

    Hey bro just deleted Facebook account πŸ™‚ God bless bro

  5. Fred Scanlen Says:

    Dear Luke
    I totaly agree wit your Facebook comments.
    I had a look myself.
    I only accepted one friend and the floodgates opened.
    My closest friends and family have asked me to accept them and I cannot make time because of the distractionand temtation to scratch arround in every possible strangers profile.
    I too share your passion on this issue.

    God Bless you.
    Love
    Uncle Fred

  6. […] The busiest day of the year was January 24th with 102 views. The most popular post that day was Why I am leaving Facebook. […]

  7. Well said.
    I deleted my facebook a few weeks ago for pretty much the same reasons!

Leave a comment